Hi

I bet your all wondering why you didnt get an email this morning. Well funny story I left the MTC today. Elder Waite had ACL surgery so we went with him to the hospital waited around for 3 hours and then got the prescription from his doctor to go pick up his medicine. It was weird being out of the MTC because those name tags really draw a lot of attention everyone was talking to us in the waiting room and outside on the sidewalk doesnt matter ha. That was nice though to start getting a feel for it. Plus we got a break from our normal routine. While I was out and about we went to the BYU health center for the drugs and I ran into Stephanie Turpin there ha I forgot to say that Brittany is going to Peru but i hope she probably nows by now anyway so yeah that was a surprise seeing someone I know while on a mission ha.

 

Speaking of people I know though I also met Elder and Sister Welty Laurel Tomins parents its was just by accident that we sat by them and I thought they looked familiar so I started talking to them and they said they served a mission in India so I asked them if they happend to know Logan Thompson who served there she said no but I know his parents west of Blackfoot where I grew up ha its just crazy who you meet. Also met one of Taite Polatis’ (kirks son) good friends from RIgby. From what he knew Taite is turning in his mission papers this week. To add on to that Taites sister Abby is going to Romania on a service mission or something. So see I do know things that go on outside of these walls ha. The one thing I dont know is if anything new has happened these past 3 days because there was no mail yesterday for holiday and we have been at the hospital all morning so I am hoping for a big stack I hope no one dissappointed me ha just kidding.

 

One more thing I think you might find ineresting is that this sunday was mission conference and they announce that there will be a new MTC mission president in January when Brittany comes in. I really like President Brown who is the president right now but I know that the new president who is President Nally will be good to. Sunday was a unique sunday on top of mission conference. For our usual sunday night devotional we instead watched president Monson’s 85th birthday celebration which was very fun and ineresting cause there was like Broadway music and stuff on it music I am not used to. The coolest thing about it though is that Steve Young hosted his birthday celebration also.

 

Other than that were just still waiting for flight plans to come in and find out when we leave everyones getting pretty anxious to leave and stuff. One goal me and Elder Spezia set during weekly planning was not to let our anxiety and stuff distract us though cause we still have a lot to learn and everyday is important here. I want to share some quotes that I wrote down in my planner this week. The first one is from my teacher Brother Langer he heard this in his religion class at school and shared it with us and now im sharing it with you “We learn from the word of god until we are able to learn by the word of god” I know that ca be interpreted so many different ways and to be honest I dont even know what it really means but it can really get you thinking about gods plan for us and all principles of the gospel. The other quote I wrote down is actually something mom wrote me when she was telling about a talk she heard I cant even remember who it was by now or what but it says “Happiness is a by-product”. Being here in the MTC has really actually been pretty hard and stressfull but when I read that I realized im the only one that can change my attitude and stay postitive through whatever. Theres more to the quote but i didnt write that down. Anyway I just want you to know that through Heavenly Fathers plan we really can experience happiness and I believe that and am very thankful for that and how much he shows he loves each of us by the many blessings he gives us.

 

I love you all,

Elder Polatis

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

