Weekly letter 8.5.2013: Pambihira Talaga!

So first off I will tell you what we did earlier today…we went caveman bowling. Once every transfer we are allowed to go on a zone P-day and leave our area. Our zone leaders in this area arent really on the ball and didnt plan ahead to go to this one lake so instead we went bowling in one of the other elders areas. It was the Gumaca Bowling Alley and I wish I had pictures I felt like Fred Flinstone. The floor was I think Bamboo wood and super soft and not even at all and the balls were these little hard balls that may be just a little larger than a softball. Instead of 2 rolls we got three. I ended up getting 105 the highest score out of all of us but it was a very ineresting way to bowl in the end it was actually really pretty fun.

As for my purpose as a missionary here we did some good work in our area. We have 11 fairly solid new investigators. One of the things I have really made sure to stay away from is what missionary slang would be “getting trunky” pretty much means slacking off at the end of an area or before you go home. This is true because all these new investigators or anyone else I meet will be harvested by the next missionary. But I always want them to remember the first time they met the missionaries and think back to the time when met Elder Polatis. They told us way back in the MTC to leave a legacy in your mission.

The other day I was standing on the side of the rode at 8 o’clock at night in a rain storm waiting for a bus. When all of the sudden I thought where did the time go? I have really already lived here for over a year and I think I could apply for citizenship. I think this was a mind trick that President Peterson played on me by weighing me down with to much to do to ever let my mind sway. The lord is really working hard in the Philippines and theres a lot to do in this part of the vineyard. Even though this is one of the farthest parts of the vineyard theres a lot of ripe fruits over here and im glad to be the one harvesting them.

Love, Elder Polatis

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

