Weekly letter 10.7.2013: Hampas Lupa

Dear Family,

 

 

This week went average is a simple way to say it. The hardest thing about this area is getting people to come to church and they are always super busy so pretty much our game time is 6-9 o clock everyones gone in the afternoons. Me and Elder Revillo are having a good time though hes super funny the only hard thing is that hes trunky and goes home in 4 weeks so I just have to set the tone and lead out.

 

We have one particular investigator brother Ronald who is progressing pretty well and I think we might get him baptized this transfer a few weeks ago he told us he doesnt believe theres a god and after effectively using the Book of Mormon we made him realize hes in denial and that he has a lot to figure out in his life. I just hope he figures out its Baptism but we will see whats in his future.

 

This week I got hit by a tricycle I was sitting there in a little parking lot of a gas station talking to a guy selling street foods when all of a sudden I got wacked in the side and knocked back like 15 ft. nothing really happened except my 80 dollar watch I bought before the mission broke. It was kinda an ineresting situation and the driver felt really bad. At this point the guy I was talking to selling the foods had become somewhat of a friend and I thought he was going to beat up the drivers face but I just told him its ok nothing really happened then I tried to talk to the driver about the gospel and he got in a hurry to leave. But at least I can check of getting hit by a tricycle in my list of things to do in the mission.

 

Coming into this part of my mission I realize more than ever that Heavenly Father is perfectly aware of every weakness I have. And that is exactly where hes testing me right now. From the beginning I thought my mission would only get easier as I go and learn the language and familiar with the scriptures but really it goes the other way around. The more that I have come to understand my calling and why Im here the harder it gets because I realize theres a lot expected of me. I know that that heavenly father would have it no other way. It really is hard to be humble and accept that he knows best but really theres nothing I can do hes in control so we just need to stop resisting the will of god and instead live according to the will of god.

 

I love you,

 

Elder Polatis

 

P.S. Send me pictures!!!

 

DSC05111

This was at Missionary Leadership Council last week. Almost all of these missionaries are in my batch and we came into the field at the same time. Maybe you recognize my MTC companion  in the middile.

DSC05153

I bet you didnt know they have Krispy Kreme in the Philippines well they only have one and its in Manila but one of our favorite members works in Manila and invited us over after she got home this weekend. It was soooo good.

DSC05175 DSC05178

So we found this delicious burger joint in town that actually has real beef burgers. They have this giant burger challenge that you have to finish this 1/2 kilo burger in less than 5 minutes. We all did it one at a time and I swallowed the last bite right on 5 minutes. The polynesian elders of course destroyed the challenge and we all had a free lunch earlier today. But I dont think I will ever try to tackle that monster again.

DSC05182

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

