Weekly email 3.10.2014: Oh my Gulay!

Dear Family,

The zamora family came again! This really puts a big boost on our investigators attending church. Only two more weeks until the baptism. There are 5 girls and a boy that will be baptized. They are the really the most exciting part of my area right now. My whole mission has always been 1 or 2 baptisms at a time. Its just going to take a lot more hard work to get them ready. The best part is there are 6 more siblings and a set of parents who live on this island called Polilo. President Peterson has wanted to put missionaries on this island ever since he got here. So this family could be the connection to get priesthood holders that live on the island so we can start a branch.

We also had another Mission Leadership Coucil. We have it once a month and its probably the best part about being a zone leader because we get a catered lunch haha. My favorite food in the Philippines is Chicken Curry. It goes so good with a bowl of rice. They also have something called Siopao. But I dont know what it is called in english. Anyway my companion cooks for us a lot and I am usually in charge of either pancakes or french toast for breakfast. The two elders that live with us in the house are really cool guys. I think one of them is going to be transferred on Thursday and then we will have someone new to add to the fun. I got bit by something the other day. I think it was a cockroach. Its right on my calf and makes my leg super sore. Every night I put a hot towel on it to open up the pores and then I squeeze the pus out of it. Its cool because the pus looks like peanut butter. As Im writing this I began to think of what mom would say. Of course OILS until now I actually forget I had oils but I will try them later tonight. Dont worry mom.

Grabe talage! apat na buwan na lang. I disguised what I just wrote in tagalog so you would know theres a count down on my mission. It fits on one hand. Maybe I will extend an extra transfer. Just a thought im kidding. The works great. After experiencing what I have with the zamora family I realize its so true the god is extending his gospel to the four corners of the earth and isles of the sea. I really pray that working with this family will lead to the church being established on the island of Polilo. We have another lady who just got baptized in December all of her kids are members to but her husband is a farmer on this island and hasnt yet got the opportunity to be taught. All of the sudden a lot of things are coming together to make it possible and it really shows that god does things in his own time.

Love,
Elder Polatis

This is just the gang having lunch after fast sunday

This is just the gang having lunch after fast sunday

Our institute building is super nice. Probably because our stake president is also the CES coordinator. Plus we live directly behind it all!

Our institute building is super nice. Probably because our stake president is also the CES coordinator. Plus we live directly behind it all!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

