Weekly email 6.9.2014: Sulit Na

Dear Family,

I have ate more mangos in the last week than I ever ate in my life back in North America. Right now is the season for mangos and you can buy dozens of them for a dollar. We just came from a lunch appointment where a member fed us mangos for desert and I ate like 5. Normally we finish a meal with Bananas because there is no real season for bananas here they just grow all year round. Which reminds me of something else I am enjoying in this area. They actually make the missionaries a dinner calender. In most other areas we only get fed when someone has a birthday party or a few times a month. But here our ward mission leader makes sure to get a printed calender passed around once a month. My belly really enjoys that and so does my pocket.

Mom you mentioned about the seminary giving you an english book of mormon and asking if there would be any use of it in my mission. So I guess I havent been able to explain a whole lot about culture things here in the Philippines through my two years of emails. The church first came to the Philippines in the 1960’s and for the first twenty years give or take a few years missionaries were called here as english speaking missionaries. This was effective because the United States had many marine basis back in the day here in the Philippines and the people were widely influenced by english. My mission president served in the Philippines back in the day but to this day cannot speak the language. So most Pioneers of the church were converted through English church literature. Also if you refer back to my last email. Were teaching a pastor now of the El Shaddai Catholic church. He is great in English and we gave him an English Book of Mormon. Hes really interested in the fact that the Book of Mormon doesn’t replace the bible but makes it clearer to understand.

Oh by the way unexpected surprise. I have a new companion. Hes a Filipino named Elder Evelarion. Hes actually from an area that speaks Ilocano a lot like many of my previous companions. He will be my last companion because I just started my last transfer woot woot. Hes a short little Filipino but I like him I actually have someone who can teach in unity with me. Which is good because if we play it right we have a lot of potential this last transfer.

So yes the baptism pulled through. We ended up having it right after church. I hope i can send a picture later but I forgot to bring my card reader I will try to borrow one and send the picture. It was two sisters the one is 10 and the other turned 8 on saturday. The 8 year old was funny I was explaining how we get baptized and jokingly I told her theres a swimming pool at the church after that she got excited. So after she got baptized she plugs her nose and goes for a dive in the font. Just cant control these kids oh jeez. Everyone laughed. It was still a good spiritual experience anyways. There mom also came to church and the baptism she has been to church for at least 5 years but the relief society really kicked in when they saw her and I think she will be back next sunday.

This is getting long but so much is happening as I get down to the end of my mission and Im hoping it all pulls through. So yesterday we had 8 investigators come to church. 5 of those investigators attended church. 3 of them were a family that im planning on getting married and baptized before I pack my bags. One of the others is a 16 year old girl who we have only taught twice and she has already read to Mosiah in the Book of Mormon yesterday after the baptism she texted us and said she wants to be baptized. But we still need to work with her mom to make sure she approves and then we need to finish the lessons. Another one of our investigators was the widow who was living with our less active brother who we reactivated and got to church 2 times before he died 2 weeks ago. She had a change of heart and is already asking members for a ride to stake conference next week in Lipa City which is an hour and a half away. Everything is starting to get a kick start right near the end. Im just hoping I can finish it all out.

Last event for the week is actually we there are four of us Elders in Batangas First Ward and Elder Boyd who is my batch mate and also my companion going home which you will probably meet at the airport is assigned in the other ward. We were assigned in a lot of the same areas like Calauag so before we go home we are going to go back there and visit. We are planning to have a big massive baptism with them the week before we leave if everything pulls through.🙂

Love,
Elder Polatis

The Church is True

 

Elder Mallari just got transferred from Lucena.

Elder Mallari just got transferred from Lucena.

I dont know where the baby in the pink came from but she doesnt look like a Filipina. But really they are all siblings

I dont know where the baby in the pink came from but she doesnt look like a Filipina. But really they are all siblings

Binyag

Binyag

DSC05936

Binyag

Binyag

Elder Mallari just got transferred from Lucena.

Elder Mallari just got transferred from Lucena.

 

This is where we ate lunch earlier today

This is where we ate lunch earlier today

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

